Tuesday, January 27, 2015

Salim Khan declines Padma Shri award

Eminent script writer Salim Khan and father of superstar Salman Khan has turned down the government of India’s prestigious Padma Shri award, the fourth highest civilian award claiming the award belittles his contribution and he deserves Padma Bhushan award instead. 

It may be noted that Salim Khan is the renowned writer who along with Javed Akhtar made the inimitable team of Salim Javed in the 70’s and gave as many as 19 Golden Jubilee hits in a row! Their hit list includs super hit films like ZANJEER, DEEWAAR, SHOLAY, TRISHUL, SEETA AUR GEETA, YADOON KI BARAAT, DON, KRANTI, SHAAN, SHAKTI, MR. INDIA etc.

Explaining the reason for declining the top honor an annoyed Salim Khan said, “It is really tragic that even after 55 years and over 40 films, the government is giving me a Padma Shri award, which my juniors have received quite long back.” 

He added, “What’s most aching is that while my earstwhile partner, Javed Akhtar, has received both a Padma Shri and a Padma Bhushan, and I am offered just a Padma Shri that too after so many years.” 

Supporting Salim Khan, eminent editor of Screen cine weekly, Udaya Tara Nayar said, “Its true Salim Khan’s contribution to Indian Cinema is massive. If they wanted to honour him, they could have given him the Padma Bhushan or Padma Vibhushan."

But dirty politics is the part of every award and the government’s civilian Padma awards are no exception.

Dilip Kumar and Amitabh Bachchan Awarded Padma Vibhushan Award

Thespian Dilip Kumar and star of the millennium Amitabh Bachchan have been crowned the prestigious Padma Vibhushan Award – the government of India’s second highest civilian award. It ranks behind the Bharat Ratna and comes before the Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri.

Though Dilip Kumar has been awarded Padma Bhushan in 1991 and Dadasaheb Phalke Award (Outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema) in 1994 but looking at his immense contribution to Indian cinema the film industry has been demanding a Bharat Ratna from Dilip Kumar for the past five years but in vain.

Regarding Amitabh Bachchan the actor won his first Padma Shri in 1984 and the Padma Bhushan in 2001. However he is still to get the most distinction award in Indian Cinema, the Dadasaheb Phalke Award. 

While Amiatbh Bachchan has humble expressed his joy over the award, West Bengal Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee has raised eye brows and demanded that Amiatbh Bachchan’s contribution to Indian Cinema is far more and he deserves Bharat Ratna! 

Padma Vibhushan Award is the most prestigious award and has been given only to a few selected luminaries in Indian Cinema since the inception of the awards in 1954.

Following is the list of eminent film personality who won Padma Vibhushan Award for their valuable contribution in Indian Cinema….

Satyajit Ray(1976); V. Shantaram (1992); Lata Mangeshkar (1999); Hrishikesh Mukherjee (2001); Adoor Gopalakrishnan (2006); Asha Bhosle (2008); Zohra Sehgal (2010); Akkineni Nageshwara Rao (2011) ; Bhupen Hazarika ( 2012) and Dilip Kumar (2015) and Amitabh Bachchan (2015)